Tony Velonis Memorial Scholarship

Winners '03, '04-'05, '06-'07, '07, '08, '09

Final Velonis Scholarships Awarded

Since 2003, SGCD (now SGCDpro) has presented scholarships to students pursuing degrees in glass and/or ceramic decorating and manufacturing. SGCDpro is proud of the number of students helped by the Velonis Memorial Scholarships. Regretfully, the Board has decided to dissolve the foundation as funding for the scholarships has become increasingly difficult. Scholarship awards of $1000 were presented to the following 2009 applicants and the remaining funds will be disbursed to a college ceramics program after legal expenses associated with the dissolution are paid. The SGCDpro Board wishes to thank all who contributed to or participated in our silent auctions making these awards possible.

2009 Tony Velonis Scholarship Recipients

Melissa Gamwell – Pratt Institute
Cheryl Gunnell – Fontbonne University
Suzanne Lussier – Oregon College of Art & Craft
Saskia Van Donk – University of California Davis
Jamianne Amicucci – Finlandia University
Cecilia Elguero – New School of Design, Parsons Institute
Amerique Powell – University of Nevada, Reno
Lindsey Clausen – University of Nebraska Lincoln
Mitch Iburg – Coe College
Stacey Scott – University of Oregon

SGCDpro offers best wishes of success to the scholarship winners in their educational pursuits.

2008 Winner: Andrew Cho

Andrew is a graduate of the University of Florida with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in ceramics.  He has been accepted as a candidate for Master of Fine Arts in Ceramics at Georgia State University.  Andrew has had several exhibitions and is currently artist in residence at San Diego State University working in the ceramic lab as a technician.  He is a member of SDSU Student Ceramics organication and NCECA.

2007 Winner: Patrick Coughlin

The winner of the 2007 Tony Velonis Memorial Scholarship is Patrick Coughlin from the University of Florida. Patrick was the 2006 resident artist for Genessee Center for the Arts in Rochester, NY. He has worked for Do Art as the kiln and glaze manager and was a juror for the Shaped Clay Society exhibit in Syracuse, NY. In 2007 he was a visiting artist at the University of Montana presenting "Silk Screen and Image Transfers on Clay." Patrick received his bachelor's of Fine Art from Syracuse University in 2004.

2006-2007 Winners:

Kian Kerman | Ceramic Engineering Student at Rutgers
Kerman is pursuing a BS in Ceramic Engineering at Rutgers and expects to graduate in 2008. Heisthe 2005 recipient of the Malcolm McLaren Scholarship and a member of the Keramos Honor Society.

Eva Champagne | MFA student at University of Montana
Champagne is pursuing a Master of Fine Arts degree from University of Montana and has a Bachelor of Arts from Humboldt State University. She has also studied at the University of Florida. She has participated in numerous exhibitions and has worked at Sunset Ceramics, St. John, U.S.V.I., Great Expectations, a slip cast studio in Berkeley, CA andthe Richmond Art Center

^ return to top

2004-2005 Winner: Leanne Julianna

Leanne Juliana, recipient of the 2004-05 Tony Velonis scholarship, attended Deco '05 in Orlando courtesy of an anonymous sponsor. Juliana is a student at George Washington University in Washington, DC, where she is seeking a Masters of Fine Arts in ceramics.

^ return to top

2003 winner: Laura Luttrell

The Tony Velonis 2003 Scholarship has been awarded to Laura Luttrell, a student at Virginia Commonwealth University. Luttrell is majoring in Fine Arts with a concentration in glass. Luttrell has also studied at the Studio of the Corning Museum of Glass in Corning, NY and at the Lorenzo de' Medici School in Florence, Italy. Luttrell has participated in numerous exhibitionsand also served as a student representative this year on the International Board of Directors of the Glass Art Society. SGCDpro congratulates Laura Luttrell and wishes her the best in her continued studies.

^ return to top